Monday, 31 December 2012

Top 5 Highlights of 2012.

1.  18th Birthday Party/Farewell Party.
It was the day that i saw some of my best friends cry for the very first time. Speeches were made, goodbyes were said and hugs were shared. I will never forget this night. I still revisit photos on facebook on a regular basis which just make me smile.


2. Law Camp
It is at law camp where i first made my closest friends this year. I was pretty scared to go at first, but once i was there, i guess i had an urge to be social. It was at law camp where my nickname (which actually stuck for the whole year) "Justice Beaver" had begun. I truly believe that had i not gone to camp, i would not have the great friendships that i do now. (excuse the weird doo)
 3. Taiwan/HongKong Holiday
Went overseas for a few weeks with mum and sister. It was great family time after not being able to see them as much for half year! This holiday made me realise just how much i missed my family

4. 2012 Melbourne/Canberra Uni Balls.
MCCC boat cruise, MCCC Ball, ANU Law Ball and Unilodge Ball were the 4 big events which i attended this year. Each were quite different from each other but I thoroughly enjoyed all of them. I'd probably have to say that law ball was my favourite.

5. Uni events/Random Group outings.
Here is where most of my friendships began to blossom. The more events i went to, the greater my network of friends began to expand, and the closer i got with people. Looking back at all these events really does make 2012 feel like it went by in a heartbeat.

Everything that happened in 2012 is now just a memory which i can file away to look back in future years. It's now time for me to focus on 2013 and just hope that i am able to have just as much fun this year as i did last year.

Sunday, 30 December 2012

Holidays in canberra

Oh god i'm so bored. Nobody is ever free when I am free, and if there is a time that we all are, it's either that people are too tired to do anything or me just getting the feeling that i'm intruding on other people's time. But this is not a rant, it's not like i can just make people have time for me, that's just narcissistic  My main issue is that i just can't find anything to fill up all this free time that i have. There;s no one to hang out with, unless i just go approach other lonely looking people and make friends. I spend all my time by myself sitting in my room watching parksnrec/30rock. SUCH A WASTE OF TIME! I'm hardly ever free from work and i never get to hang out with my friends due to our timetable clashes, so when we DO have time, i'd prefer to hang out and do something rather than sitting on my ass doing nothing. Anyway, i think im going to drive myself crazy if i dont find something to do. I was thinking to go to gym, but the gym is closed until jan 2 for the holiday period.. =='.

On a lighter, less depressing note. I've decided to pick up french next year rather than Chinese. My mother and I have agreed that, being chinese and having many years of experience in chinese school, should be enough for me to self learn and perfect later on or outside of my studies. I am surrounded by chinese people, and my whole family speaks chinese half the time to me, so it'll be easy to pick up, and i don't need a university degree to tell me i can speak it..because i can. So i've decided to pick up french and get the fundamentals down so that I can add another language to my skills. Being bilingual is so advantageous, I'm finding. At work, i get so many asian people confront me and speak mandarin, and i'm the only one in the store that can communicate with them. I am killing it in the sales with the asian community at the moment just because of this! Who knows? maybe i can get the french speaking community on my side next year aswell! haha.

I've started a list of place that i want to visit after i graduate. I'm taking a year off and going to go travelling around the world. India, sri lanka and egypt are probably my top 3 most wanted destinations at the moment. Other countries featured on my current list include, Italy, austria, and some places in china such as Beijing and Leshan.

Anyway, whilst writing this, i've decided to go for a walk around my university before it gets too dark, and hopefully friends will be awake by the time i get back. I'm off.

 I like this song!!!!!!

Wednesday, 19 December 2012

Summer Break!

Wow, it has been so long since i last made a post! Holidays began for me about a month ago and i'm only really finding time now to get back into blogging.

I started my holiday off by going to the coldplay concert in sydney. It was one of the most amazing nights i have ever had. The music, the lights, the confetti, the beach balls, the fireworks, the environment, the people! Words can not describe the atmosphere in the air that night. I rose my hands, waved them in the air and closed my eyes for almost every song. I actually felt like i was in para-para-paradise!

I've been back to melbourne twice within the past month! the first time was straight after coldplay, and the second time (last week) was for my sister's graduation. My sister's graduation is a moment that i will never forget. I will never forget witnessing the joy and excitement that my sister and her friends had shared completing their undergraduate degrees. It makes me even more determined to pick up my grades and make it that far to graduate myself. It would probably feel 10x as good as it was to graduate from highschool.

Here are some photos of my sister's graduation



On the second day that i was in melbourne, i decided to throw a christmas party/reunion party at my house. It was supposed to be a chance for all my friends and myself to reconnect and catch up on what's been happening over the past year. Most of my friends came, and i had a great time. I do admit that we've all sort of drifted apart from one another over this year. i know we're all thinking it, But deep down, we will always be that same group that shared many memories together.




I got back to canberra on sunday night, and i've just been working every day! My timetable is crazy from now until the new year. I'm working so much! But it doesnt fuss me all that much when i start to think about the money that i will be getting :). It also makes me feel better about the fact that we finally booked out plane tickets to the gold coast! Now all we got to do is find accomodation and buy theme park passes :) I'm so excited!

It's also that time of year where I feel like almost everyone on my facebook page has gone overseas. Everyone seems to be in hongkong again this year. I want to go back also! Next year's tour is to thailand with my family, hopefully we can squeeze in a hongkong trip aswell :).

Monday, 8 October 2012

Carey Oakay

I really should go and see an actual doctor. I swear i have been sick with this cold since march! It just will not go away! ...but i guess it's kind of my own fault for not taking medication/buying medication.

Last night me and three others spontaneously decided to go Karaoke for an hour. It made me think of the good old days back in year 9/10 when everyone would go. I don't know why everyone stopped....they probably realised how TB it was. Anyway, it was quite fun and I got to belt it out to Mariah Carey's "We Belong Together", and of course "Love on Top" (Beyonce). I probably shouldnt have sung as hard as i did with my sore throat..

I managed to finish my stupid BUSN assignment this weekend. My friends had done the same assignment last semester, and ended up all-nightering the night before up until the due time of 4pm the next day. My assignment was released halfway through last mid-sem, and i kept telling myself not to leave it for the last minute, i kept telling myself that i didn't want to end up like my friends.....but I still did anyway! Well, not exactly. I had only started the assignment last week, and only started my write up two nights ago. I was determined to finish the assignment on monday, so that i could sleep peacefully and hand it in on tuesday. It was no piece of cake getting it done by monda, but i managed. I still feel like shit from that night...but it's probably 10000x better than the way my friend's felt when they did their assignment.

I just found out that one of my friend back in melbourne just got back from america after taking part in this world cup thing for SIFE Australia. I had no idea wth sife was, so i looked it up and i was pretty amazed. Im guessing that her team had won the national conference in australia, and then went on to the world cup in america where they pretty much get with other country ambassadors to discuss issues and resolutions for problems using business skills and such. Discovering all that my friend has done made me feel like the most laziest person. I feel like my friend is really getting out there and involved in the community and stuff..where i'm just sitting here scrolling through tumblr, facebook and drinking tea. ... I wish i was as involved as others in this world, and maybe i should start doing something about it!


this is always one of the first songs i listen to when i turn on my ipod/iphone/ipad/mac.

Saturday, 29 September 2012

Numb

I feel like I achieved nothing in this first week back at uni. I swear i didn't take out my books at all, and i didnt prepare for my tutes this week. Every mid-sem/semester break i always tell myself that I need to work harder, and the first week back I already let myself down. I don't know why i don't like doing work. I really want to be as studious as I was back in high-school, but every time i try i just find myself procrastinating and not paying attention at all. I think it's mainly because i have too much freedom here..

Anyway, it is a long weekend in canberra this weekend, and I planned to go back to visit Melbourne. On tuesday, I booked my tickets to go back, i texted all my mates and informed them that I would be in town, I clicked "confirm payment" on the VLine Website...and 5 minutes after, I got a call from work. They asked me to come into work for my first shift on wednesday. I don't know why they even chose wednesday because i already told them that I couldn't make tuesday and wednesday due to uni, so they told me that they'd call me back later that day. At that point i was freaking out because I was for sure that Vodafone would call me and ask me to come in anytime later in the week. I felt like I had to cancel my trip back to melbourne because they could call me in at anytime. I was devastated. All my friends back in melbourne thought that I was trolling them. One minute I tell them that I'm coming down and start booking plans, and the next minute I'm not even coming at all. I feel so bad because I haven't been back to Melbourne in ages, and I could have gone during the midsem, but i decided not to. I have no idea when my next opportunity to go back to Melbourne would be. I'm starting to miss everyone a little more.

My life has been pretty boring lately, so i will end it here.

Julia Sheer is back!

Sunday, 9 September 2012

HELLO HOLIDAYS

It's currently 4:05 AM on a monday morning and I am sitting here in this study room with my friends absolutely exhausted and tired. Who releases an assignment on the day which holidays begin and make it due 72 hours later? The ANU, that's who. I've been working my ass off doing this damn assignment for the last 13 hours. I managed to get it done, and now i feel so dead. I'm the first to finish out of everyone in the study room, so now I'm just waiting for them to finish. This probably won't be for another few hours. I'll just keep myself entertained by writing this blog post and scrolling through tumblr.

I can now officially welcome the holidays! No more exams, no more assignments, just free time for two weeks! I made the decision to not go back to Melbourne during these holidays and instead, go to sydney. I'm quite excited to experience Australia's SECOND best city and just see what all the fuss is about. It should be an interesting and fun week planned.

I'm actually really bored at the moment, so I'm going to start looking up some potential ideas for my birthday next year. I want to get a villa/suite in the crown towers in Melbourne. My only problem would be whether all my new canberra friends are willing to make the trip down to Melbourne. It's too far from canberra. It sucks! I might just have some sort function in canberra, but I swear that there really is nothing to do here that would be interesting at all. There's no awesome bars in Canberra like the ones in Melbourne such as Maeve Fox or The Boatbuilder's Yard. If I could find one, then i would definitely have my party there.

Anyway, I'm going to ride back to BNG and go shower, get changed and stuff and come back to the study room to make sure my friend finishes their assignment. Willing to all nighter with them to make sure they finish.

I didn't really like 360 when I saw them at GTM earlier in the year, but for some reason whenever I hear "run alone" on the radio, i get excited.

Sunday, 2 September 2012

Unused skills.

I wish i could play my clarinet more. I feel like I brought it all the way to canberra for nothing. To waste space. I started playing in grade 2, which means that I have been playing for 11 years now. I would  hate to have my skills just go to waste. I need to find some sort of orchestra or concert band to get back into it. I remember all the great memories that i had from playing in band back in Melbourne. As geeky as it sounds, I wish I could re-live them. Band would probably have to be one of my more happier memories of high-school. I'm going to add a resolution to my list, and that is to find a band to join. I miss playing with a group of muso's, playing in clarinet ensembles, and taking solos. I miss the sound of the flutes and clarinets intertwining and harmonising, i miss the amazing build ups that the timpani brings, I miss the heavy sounds of the lower brass, and i miss screeching with high notes on my clarinet.

Anyway, I'm going to keep this post short as I have to study for an exam that i have tomorrow night. Here's a video I came across of some orchestra doing MGMT-Kids

faarrrk, I miss them clarinet/flute runs.